Data Centre Design & Facility

Data Centre Design & Facility

ANSI/TIA-942 Compliance Certification

TIA-942 is the telecommunication infrastructure standard for Data Centres. This standard however does not only cover the telecommunication part but also other important factors which lead to a robust Data Centre. The Data Centre will be reviewed for compliance in four categories:

  • Architecture
  • Electrical
  • Mechanical
  • Telecommunications

Further areas to be examined are operational management and other important aspects such as health and safety aspects.


For each of the categories the Data Centre will be categorized in four Rating levels (Rated 1 -4) as well as an overall Rating level.


The audit will provide a report of non-compliances as well as a “EPI Certificate” indicating the level of conformity to the ANSI/TIA-942 standard.


In the following two subsequent years the Data Centre will need to go through a surveillance audit. In the third year a complete (re)certification audit will be conducted to re-establish the Rating classification.